Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Home / Vegetable Tempura

Vegetable Tempura

by | Feb 5, 2018 | Recipes

Vegetable Tempura

Free from wheat, dairy, egg and nut

Are you looking for new ways of feeding your young family members veggies without any moans and groans?  Sylvie Hurford has a great recipe from her recipe book More – Allergen Free recipes for whole family

The best veggies to use are:

Raw sweet red pepper, broccoli and avocado

Steamed carrots, butternut, sweet potato and button mushrooms (al dente)

1 cup of rice flour

1 teaspoon of wheat-free baking powder

1 generous pinch of salt

1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar

1 cup of cold fizzy water

Canola oil, for frying

Whip all the batter ingredients until smooth and frothy, and then place in the fridge for around 30 minutes.

Heat a pan of canola oil, about 7.5cm deep.  As soon as the oil begins to fizz, use a skewer or toothpick to dip the vegetable into the batter – taking as much of the batter as you can with the veggie.  Toss it into the boiling oil immediately and leave until pale golden brown – do two or three veg at a time.

Place on a greaseproof paper and serve.

4 heaped teaspoons of sugar, xylitol or fructose

1 wheat-free chicken stock cube or 1 tablespoon of stock powder dissolved in 2/3 cup of water *

1 teaspoon of raspberry or red wine vinegar

1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon of lemon juice

1 teaspoon of cornflour

Heat the ingredients in a saucepan until the sauce has a slightly opaque appearance and gluey texture, ready for dipping.

* Note:  Some stock powders have maltodextrin in them which can be wheat, corn, or rice based. However, be rest assured – maltodextrin is gluten free, even when it is made from wheat. The processing that wheat starches undergo in the creation of maltodextrin renders it gluten-free. Therefore the source does not matter because maltodextrin is such a highly processed ingredient that the protein is removed, rendering it gluten free. Plus, if wheat is used to make maltodextrin, “wheat” will appear on the label. This might give you a pause, but even in this case, the maltodextrin would be gluten free.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AFSA Border

other articles you might be interested in…